top of page

2023 Heartland Conference Agenda

September 17, 18, and 19

Hyatt Place Kansas City / Lenexa City Center

8741 Ryckert Street, Lenexa, KS 66219

Sunday, September 17th

6:00pm - 10:00pm

Welcome Social

Social gatherings in hotel gallery area

Monday, September 18th

6:00am - 7:00am

Sponsor Set Up

7:00am - 8:00am

Registration - Ballroom C

Breakfast for hotel guests

Sponsor Booths open

8:00am - 8:15am

Welcome and Opening Remarks

8:15am - 9:30am

Rockets and Exploding Bombs/A Career in Risk Management

Dean Coughenour, Risk Manager/City of Flagstaff retired, National PRIMA Past President 

9:30am - 10:00am

Break / Sponsor Booths Open

10:00am - 11:00am

Physical Therapy and a Continuum of Care for Workers' Comp Mgmt

Ben Peterson, MSPT, DPT, Cert. MDT, CEO of ARC Physical Therapy + 

11:00am - 12:00pm

Rethinking Your Property Insurance

Cassie Daley, Senior Account Manager, The Accel Group 

12:00pm - 1:00pm

Lunch - Ballroom AB

1:00pm - 2:00pm

Advocate or Adversary: The Role the Employer MUST Play 

 Cheryl Tinsley, ARM, ABC, Owner of Tinsley Risk Solutions, LLC 

2:00pm - 2:30pm

Break / Sponsor Booths Open

2:30pm - 4:00pm

Workplace Disasters Come in Different Packages

Steve Estenson, Risk Manager, Linn County, Iowa - IA/NE/SD PRIMA President 

4:00pm - 4:30pm

Trending Topics in Risk Management

Open Forum, Group Discussion

4:30pm - 5:15pm

IA/NE/SD PRIMA & KS PRIMA Joint Board Meeting 

6:00pm - 9:00pm

Social Hour / Cash Bar Available - Ballroom ABCD

6:30pm - 7:30pm

Dinner Followed by Entertainment - Ballroom AB

Tuesday, September 19th

7:00am - 8:00am

Breakfast for Hotel Guests

8:00am - 9:00am

Defense Driving for All

Tracie Everson, Safety Benefits, Inc.

9:00am - 10:30am

Mystical Magic in Managing Claims

Dean Coughenour, Risk Manager/City of Flagstaff retired, National PRIMA Past President

10:30am - 11:00am


Last Chance to Visit Sponsors Booths

Check Out

11:00am - 12:00pm

Holistic Approach to Reducing Workers' Compensation Costs 

Andrea Rogers, Chief Operating Officer, Accel Group 

12:00 - 1:00pm

Closing Remarks & Door Prizes

Steve Estenson, IA/NE/SD PRIMA President 2023

Dave Wimberly, KS PRIMA President 2023 

bottom of page